Paper – Noriko Ambe

Art

For a particular subject this session we have been given 12 pieces of paper approx 60 x 50 cm. The task is to create something with these 12 sheets of paper. The only other materials to be used are a black sharpie pen, charcol and/or a graphite pencil.

So after some though and considering the subject is a ‘Shadow’ of our major works I decided I wanted to cut out circles from the paper, removing space and mirroring the visual language of my watercolour painting. *Note* our lecturer said ‘rules are to be broken’ so it will be interesting to see what other come up with.

Noriko Ambre, A Piece of Flat Globe Vol.6 [Detail], 2008

With this in mind I began to look up some artists who have worked with paper cutting etc and WOW I am awe struck by the things some artists have been able to create using paper. In a Lovely book Paper: Tear,Fold, Rip, Crease, Cut I found some particulary interesting paper art. Noriko Ambe (b. 1967) is a Japanese artist who now lives and works in both New York and Tokyo. Ambe’s series of works A Piece of Flat Globeare complex organic structures built from cut and layered paper. She individually cut’s single pieces of paper by free hand and stacks them together.

What I really enjoy in Ambe artpractice is that she avoids mechanical or perfect lines and creates subtle, natural distortions.

Noriko Ambre, ‘A piece of Flat Globe Vol.9’, 2009

Noriko Ambe, A Piece of Flat Globe Vol.4, 2008

 

Another interesting source of inspiration for layering and cutting paper has come from the humble Cuttle Fish that were a washed up a plently at Burning Palms Beach on the Coastal Walk North of Ottford, NSW.

Below are some photos I took of the remains of these beautiful creatures when I went on this walk on Tuesday the 2nd Oct. Is is quite amazing how they resemble the paper work of Ambe.

Cuttle Fish at Burning Palms Beach

Cuttle Fish at Burning Palms Beach

 

 

2 thoughts on “Paper – Noriko Ambe

  1. The paper cutting is a such an interesting idea and I think it will really suit your style. The first picture you have by Noriko Ambre already looks a lot like your watercolours. Peopl are amazing with their paper-cut skills. I have always been transfixed by the paper trees of Yuken Teruya. Once you master the techniques I might have to get some lessons 🙂

Leave a comment